Laney College

Women’s Track and Field

Women’s Track and Field

Coach Taylor is entering his 6th year here as the Head Coach at Laney. He was named the Nor Cal Junior College Women’s Coach of the Year for 2007, 2008 and 2009,  and was named the California State Junior College Coach of the Year for 2007. Taylor, primarily a sprint, hurdles and jumps coach, has had athletes win 17 state titles in his 5 seasons here, including 4 100m dash, 4 200m dash,1 400m dash,  2 4 x 100m relay, 1 4 x 400m relay, 4 long jump and 2 100m hurdle titles.  He has also had other J.C. state champions during his tenure at San Francisco City College.  Over this 4 year span, the Laney Womens’ team has finished 3rd, 2nd, 1st  and 1st in the Coast Conference, 5th, 2nd, 1st and 1st in the Nor Cal Championships and 6th 2nd, 3rd and 2nd in the State Championships. Last year, Laney won it’s first ever J.C. State Team Championship. Taylor also runs the successful E.O.Y.D.C. TC age group and open program, coaching numerous All Americans and national record holders. He was a regional Jr. women’s sprint coordinator for USATF and has been a Level III sprints and hurdle clinician.

Nick Mazur is in his second year as an assistant coach.   He assists with the strength, power and conditioning training.  Coach Mazur was formerly the Head Boys Track and Field Coach at McClymonds H.S. and competed for Bishop O’Dowd H.S. as a prep. He ran collegiately for Cal, where he is a graduate student and is currently pursuing his Phd.

Welcome to the Laney Eagles Track and Field Webpage

1 2009 Sophomore tracksters follow in the footsteps of the 2008 group:

10 out of the 11 Sophmores from the 2010 team were offered scholarships and were accepted into various institutions.  Of that 10, 6 are at the following institutions:

Lauryn Newson: University of Oregon

Shanae Roach: San Diego State University

Dominique Crosby: Louisiana Tech University

Sharonda Clark: Long Beach State University

Dominique Knowles: San Francisco State University

Sepanta Padrah: Northeastern University

Offers for:

Shankia Davis

The 5 graduating Sophomores from the 2009 team recieved scholarships and gained entrance to the followinginstitutions:

Champelle Brown: University of Central Florida

Malissa Anthony: Portland State University

Aria Betts: U.C.L.A.

Jalicia Cox: University of California at Davis

Eijiro Ntekeume: University of California at Berkeley

The 4 graduating Sophomores from the 2008 team all received scholarships to Division 1 institutions:

: University of California at Berkeley

Woodley also received the Laney College Athletic Academic Award for the 2008 school year. Congratulations to all of these young ladies!!