Facilities Planning Committee Membership

(Proposed changes from Spring 2016 were approved 05/02/16 by Facilities Planning Committee; 5/3/16 Faculty Senate; 5/18/16 College Council)

Background

The current membership makeup of the Facilities Planning Committee based on the physical footprint of the campus in order to engage members of the Laney Community who have special skills and interest in various physical areas of the campus. The membership chosen in this manor should maximize participation by interested and vested members who are willing to attend and participate in committee work – so that not only their physical area is represented the but the campus as a whole.

Committee Makeup

- 1. **Statutory minimum appointed Committee members** derived from "Suggested Functional Facility Areas" list.
 - Director of Business and Admin. Services
 - 2 students appointed by ASLC President
 - 2 Administrators appointed by College President
 - 4 faculty appointed by Faculty Senate President
 - 3 classified appointed by Classified President
- 2. Additional Optional At-Large Members A maximum of up to (4) At-large Members: (2) Faculty representatives (appointed by the Faculty Senate President) and (2) At-Large Classified representative (appointed by the Classified Senate President) MAY be added to the committee to maximize remaining representation in the following "Suggested Functional Facility Areas". These At-Large Members may be requested by the Committee Chairs if the Statutory minimum appointed Committee membership does not effectively represent an adequate representation of the Campus Footprint in the "Suggested Functional Facility Areas".

Suggested Functional Facility Areas - to include but are not limited to the following areas that represent a facilities footprint on the Laney Campus:

- Culinary/ Food Services
- Science/laboratories
- Theater
- Kinesiology/ Athletics
- Library
- Student Center
- Instructional classrooms
- Arts (visual, performance)
- CTE Laboratories
- Student Services
- Learning Communities
- Specialized Expertise in Facilities i.e. Construction Management, Engineering, Architecture, ADA/Risk Management, Custodial.
- 3. Committee Co-chairs one faculty member (appointed by Faculty Senate President) and one administrator (appointed by College President)